Tuesday, 08 August 2017 02:12

CPSC DG Shares TVET Best Practices at the Asia TVET Experts Forum 2017 in Malaysia

The Ministry of Higher Education, through the Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM), and in cooperation with the UNESCO – UNEVOC International Centre for TVET, German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ) and the Regional Cooperation Program to Improve the Training of TVET Personnel (RECOTVET), organized the Asia TVET Experts Forum (ATEF 2017) from 17th to 18th of July 2017 at the KSL Hotel and Resort and UTHM Campus in Johor, Malaysia.

Dr. Ramhari Lamichhane accepts token of appreciation from UTHM

The forum intended to serve as a platform to discuss solutions for current issues and share best practices in TVET, as well as establish a TVET experts’ network that will outline strategies and action plans to enhance collaboration among participating institutions and universities. The forum involved 12 TVET experts, including the CPSC Director General Dr. Ramhari Lamichhane. The participants came from seven countries, such as Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam and Germany.

Participating TVET Experts at the Forum

Prof. Dr. Wahid bin Razzaly, Vice Chancellor of UTHM graced the Opening Program and delivered the Keynote Address, in which he cited the productive partnership between CPSC and UTHM. He also conveyed his best wishes to the organizers and participants of the forum.

Other keynote address speakers who shared best practices in TVET included Prof. Dr. Georg Spottl of GIZ, and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Numyoot Songthanapitak, President of the Regional Association for Vocational Teacher Education (RAVTE).

The forum ended with the participants approving the formation of a TVET experts’ network through the signing of an Agreement and convening its first official meeting. The network appointed Prof. Dr. Razzaly of UTHM as the President; Dr. Raul Muyong, President of Iloilo Science and Technology University (Philippines) as Vice President; Prof. Dr. Yusri Bin Yusof of UTHM as the Secretary; and Prof. Dr. Spottl of GIZ and Dr. Lamichhane of CPSC as advisors.